The Prison Healer Book Review

The Prison Healer: ★★★★★

Lynette Noni

YA Fantasy

Book one in The Prison Healer Series

Warning: this book contains scenes of death, assault, self harm and violence that some readers may find upsetting

If you haven’t already, please follow this blog. You can also find HalfWildBooks on InstagramGoodreads, and Twitter for more bookish content.


The Prison Healer Non-Spoiler Review

The Prison Healer has been receiving a lot of hype, and so I went in with pretty high expectations. I was not disappointed!

Set in Zalindov Prison, we follow Kiva, the prison healer, who has been trapped inside the prison for ten years. She keeps her distance from other inmates, staying close only to Tipp, a younger boy who she sees as a brother. Desperately waiting for her family to rescue her, she carries out her gruelling tasks, until one day, things slowly begin to change with the arrival of Jaren and Naari.

The Prison Healer was such a fantastic read, with plot twists that left me slamming the book down and instantly scrambling to check the release date for the sequel, The Gilded Cage. Full of elemental magic, deadly trials, slow burn romances and brewing rebellions, The Prison Healer was fast paced and impossible to put down.

Lynette Noni creates a setting that is both unique and sinister. She contains the story within one setting, and while this could become stagnant and repetitive, she kept me engaged throughout, exploring trial areas and deadly passage ways.

The characters in this book were amazing, it’s so easy to love them. Kiva and Tipp tugged on my heart strings, and I did shed a few tears over this book.

The ending of this book is not to be taken lightly, the plot twist is one that will leave you gasping. Book two is set up to feature some of my favourite plot lines and tropes, I cannot wait to devour it.

Overall, I loved The Prison Healer, it was dark, fast paced, full of magic and romance. I highly recommend it!


Have you read The Prison Healer? Let me know in the comments below!

Thank you for reading,

Until next time

Nicole / HalfWildBooks

Leave a comment